Kenetlon Sagas

Klara’s Journey

My debut novel, Klara’s Journey, is the first book in the Kenetlon Sagas trilogy.

Curious about this story? Here’s the back cover blurb:

Klara doesn’t have to think twice when a band of itinerant travelers offer her employment with their company. Eager to escape life as the village whore, she joins the expedition knowing only that the ragged wanderers are destined for the wildlands believed to be the ancestral home of their Goddess. Signing on as camp cook and huntress, she embarks on an adventure that leaves her torn between hope and fear.

Aided by an unhelpful wizard, Klara finds herself pursued across nations by rabble-rousing religious zealots and ushered into a journey of self-discovery, tapping into a new world of sexual exploration rather than exploitation. Klara’s journey catapults her into the lives of a banished nobleman and an exiled king, either of whom may shatter her heart … or lead to the ultimate betrayal.


Awards and Accolades

  • 1st Place Award, 2021 Palouse Writers Guild, First Chapter Contest.
  • Judge’s Choice Award, 2021 Palouse Writers Guild, First Chapter Contest.
  • Honorable Mention, 2022 Idaho Writers Guild, First 10 pages of a Novel.

Advance Praise for Klara’s Journey

“K.S. Wright nicely contrasts Klara’s personal revelations and experiences with the rising conflicts and challenges of her world. Her encounter with demons, rituals, and matters of her own heart (“I don’t believe I’m capable of even knowing what love is.“) makes for a satisfying contrast between high-octane adventure and psychological development as Klara moves into positions of power she’d never imagined . . . Libraries and readers seeking stories that represent the intersection of fantasy, history, romance, and psychological growth will welcome the opportunity to follow Klara on her life-changing journey through a world in flux.” Midwest Book Review

“In her debut novel, Wright does a masterful job of portraying Klara’s journey. The Klara that the reader first meets is guarded and cut off from emotion. After she joins the Keltoi, she begins to open her heart to the possibilities of family and love, though her growing trust proves to be dangerous. Wright also ably develops the rough-hewn Keltoi into distinctive, enjoyable characters. Wright has created an enthralling new series lead, so here’s hoping Klara hangs on until the second book.” —Kirkus Review

“. . . a satisfying milieu of discovery and unexpected twists of plot to keep the romance elusive and fresh and the action spirited . . .”  D. Donovan, Editor, Donovan’s Literary Services

Published by Hart & Hind Publishing Company.
Publication date: June 2023

The Upbreeder

The second book in the Kenetlon Sagas Trilogy, The Upbreeder, has been written and is now awaiting formatting and a final proofread.

Curious about the second installment of this story? Here’s the back cover blurb:

Klara finds herself in an impossible situation: in love, imprisoned, and possibly pregnant. She has until the new moon to prove she is not pregnant or find a way to escape. Failure to do one of those things will result in her death. The king’s first mistake was assigning a young man, fond of drink, to guard a whore. Will he make more mistakes before her time runs out?

Enemies abound and escape is not synonymous with freedom. Even if she runs, Klara will be hunted from all quarters, forced to outwit captors and would-be rescuers. When she finally settles on a plan of action, a watchful wizard relays information that upends her world, changing everything she knows about her past . . . and casting a shadow across her future.


Awards and Accolades

  • 3rd Place Award, 2022 Palouse Writers Guild, First Chapter Contest.


The Upbreeder will be published by Hart & Hind Publishing Company.
Expected publication date: June 2024